simple basil pesto (no pine nuts!).

the easiest pesto recipe is right this way; just slipping in to use the very last bit of your basil plants.

I’m not sure what possessed me to purchase a massive bunch of basil during the first full week of fall, but there I was on Saturday morning, on a mission to pick up the last week of summer’s peaches, when I just couldn’t resist a beautiful bunch of basil. I brought it home, tossed some into a pot of fresh tomato sauce, and then forgot about it for a few days.

I was having coffee with a dear friend and when we were talking about going to the market, he reminded me of pesto and I went home feeling totally inspired (about the pesto among many other things!). I never ever have pine nuts as they are expensive but my friend confirmed he’s made pesto with many other nuts like pistachios and walnuts. I used sunflower seeds here and it couldn’t be simpler.

Use in pasta, on salmon or chicken, or as a spread on toast! Freeze if not using right away and enjoy the fragrance of summer anytime!

simple basil pesto (with sunflower seeds!).
ingredients
2 cups basil leaves
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
1/2 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons sunflower seeds
2 garlic cloves
sea salt and pepper, if desired

directions
In a food processor, add all ingredients except the olive oil and pulse until finely minced. Drizzle in olive oil until well blended. Makes scant 1 cup.

Refrigerate and use immediately or freeze for up to 3 month.

**use all local and/or organic ingredients wherever possible**

Leave a comment