gluten free cranberry orange oatmeal muffins.

Hey there! Can I ask, how is it already December 22nd? Each year I feel so ahead of the game and then the week before Christmas arrives and I realize just how much I still need to do. Usually all those things are food related, and today’s recipe was no exception! At the direction of a new doctor I am seeing, I am on a gluten free diet for eight weeks to determine if I have non Celiac gluten sensitivity as I’ve tested negative for Celiac twice. Of course this eight week period happened during the holidays and I’ve had to adapt so that I can enjoy some of my holiday favorites, sans gluten. This recipe tops that list as I LOVE cranberry orange bread, and it’s been a trial with different gluten free flour blends to find one that yielded a tender crumb.

I found that Bob’s Red Mill 1:1 gluten free flour blend has been the most successful for me along with certified gluten free oats from Trader Joe’s. While my doctor informed me that ‘having a cookie at Christmas won’t kill you’, I am trying my best to make it through these eight weeks gluten free. Now that I can have one of my favorite breakfast items for the holiday, I think it I can do it! If you have allergen sensitive people you’ll be hosting, I hope you try this recipe. These freeze super well, too! Mine are in my freezer now, just waiting for their 12/25 debut.

gluten free cranberry orange oatmeal muffins.
adapted from food.com

ingredients
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup nonfat yogurt (I used plain greek)
1/2 cup grapeseed oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 cup GF flour (I used bob’s red mill)
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons freshly grated orange zest
1 cup dried cranberries

directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a 12 cup muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.

In a bowl, add the oats and yogurt and mix together to moisten oats. In small bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, powder and salt and set aside. In a separate bowl, whisk together egg, sugars, oil and zest. Add oat mixture to wet ingredients. Fold in dry ingredients to the wet. Fold in cranberries.

Evenly distribute amongst the muffin tins and bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Makes 12 muffins. *Please use local and/or organic ingredients where possible*

Leave a comment