bourbon apple cider + ginger cocktail.

Tis’ the season for all things apple. I was reading an article on Buzzfeed recently (my lunchtime mindless guilty pleasure reading for sure), I happened upon a quiz titled “are you more apple spice or pumpkin spice?”. Well, I don’t need a quiz to tell me that I am squarely in the apple spice camp. Full disclosure: I one hundred percent took the quiz and was relieved when it confirmed that yes, I was in fact apple spice. Whew. 

img_2587

It’s not that I don’t love pumpkin flavored goodies. I do! My previous recipe can attest!  It’s just, I love apple. All things. My very first scented candle obsession was with apple cinnamon. I like that tart/sweet combination, and the slightly spicy notes… just yum. So what does that have to do with cocktails? Well, not very much actually. As promised in the last post, this cocktail is the perfect accompaniment. This drink is simple, oh so perfect for fall, and strikes a great balance between sweet, spicy and bitter.

img_2585

Do you like bourbon? I never used to, but over the years I’ve developed quite the taste for it, especially from bourbon-based cocktails. This one is oddly refreshing, which is a word I usually reserve for warm weather recipes. We’re going to combine bourbon (I like Knob Creek for this) with gorgeous, cloudy apple cider, a twist of orange and topped with spicy ginger beer. Make sure to get good, strong ginger beer for this: I used Trader Joe’s triple ginger brew… it has quite the kick!

img_2586

Shake and pour over ice for a delicious cocktail that tastes just like the cool days of fall. The original recipe had a cinnamon and sugar rimmed glass, but I tried it with and without and found I liked it much better without.

These are great for a crowd… you could make a big batch of the bourbon/orange/cider mix, and then top with the ginger beer when ready to serve, to ensure the cocktail stays bubbly and festive. Enjoy you guys!

apple cider +ginger bourbon cocktail. 

img_2584

ingredients
4 ounces bourbon (I like Knob Creek or Buffalo Trace for this)
8 ounces cloudy apple cider
1 ounce fresh orange juice
4 ounces ginger beer

directions
Juice an orange. Add juice, apple cider, bourbon to a cocktail shaker with ice. Shake well.

Strain into cocktail glasses filled with ice. Top evenly with ginger beer. Serve immediately.

Makes 2 very generous cocktails. Makes 4 regular sized cocktails.

**Please use all organic ingredients wherever possible** 

Leave a Reply

