the best hummus ever.

That’s a bold statement. The best hummus. Ever. But, let me tell you, the taste of this hummus is INSANE.

image

Let me tell you a fairy tale. Once upon a time, I didn’t like hummus. It was a strange time. Then one day, a boyfriend made hummus, his favorite recipe. I was hesitant, but once I dipped fluffy pita into that smooth, creamy, garlicky dip, I was S.O.L.D. It also ruined any future hummus eating experiences. You see, once I was saw the light, I always compared all hummus to that first, homemade recipe. Sure, there was good hummus to be found in restaurants, and maybe, just maybe at the grocery store, but my heart belongs to that recipe. Now, that boyfriend and I are no longer, but you better believe I asked for that recipe! Good thing we remained friendly. Thanks to K., I can share with you.

image

I think the secret is the addition of plain yogurt. The original recipe calls for regular, but I’ve used greek with success. The yogurt makes it extra creamy, smooth and adds a richness that is not to be missed. Now this recipe is decidedly garlicky, so make sure you (and whoever you’re eating it with!) are big ol’ garlic fans like I am! At least garlic is insanely healthy, so you can feel even better about eating this already good for you dip!

image

I served it with sliced cucumbers here, but you can pair with pita, veggies, a spoon (we’re a judgment free zone here), and prepare for hummus nirvana.

the best hummus.
courtesy of K.

image

ingredients
1 and a half cans of chickpeas, drained (21 ounces)
3-4 garlic cloves
3 tablespoons tahini
5 ounces plain Greek yogurt
6 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
3/4 teaspoon cumin
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

directions
Rinse the chickpeas and add them to a food processor. Add the garlic cloves and puree 10-20 seconds. Scrape the bowl. Add the tahini, yogurt, lemon juice and cumin and puree until smooth. You may need to stop and scrape the bowl to ensure everything is well combined.

While the processor is running, stream in the olive oil. Once mixed in, pour into a serving bowl, cover with foil/plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour before serving. This resting/chilling time will allow for the flavors to combine.

Serves 6-8 as an appetizer. Keeps for 3-4 days covered tightly in the refrigerator.

**Please use organic ingredients wherever possible** 

Leave a Reply

