my favorite banana bread.

There are about a zillion banana bread recipes out there in the blogosphere. And even more stowed away in homemade recipe books, on index cards, or haphazardly written down from memory in an effort to recreate your great-grandmother’s recipe. I’ve tried just about all of them, and have finally settled on my favorite version of this beloved bread. It’s incredibly simple, and I *always* have all the ingredients on hand whenever I’m faced with a surplus of bananas, and allow a few to turn almost overripe in preparation to make this delicious bread.

image

image

No shame, I can polish off an entire loaf all by myself in just a few days. It’s just so good! The best part about breads like this (and especially banana bread) is that the flavors meld together and intensify over a few days post-baking. I can barely make it to day 3, but I encourage you to do so! You’ll thank me.

This is delicious to take to a friend, or invite one over and share it with some coffee or tea. There is a reason banana bread is such a classic. Enjoy!

banana bread.
adapted from Williams Sonoma. 

image

ingredients

1 2/3 cups all purpose, unbleached white flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
3 very ripe bananas, peeled
2/3 cup coconut palm sugar
1/3 cup grapeseed oil
2 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

directions

Preheat an oven to 350°F. Grease an 8 1/2-by-4 1/2-inch loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray. Set aside.

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt and baking soda.

In a large bowl, smash the bananas with a fork. Add the sugar, oil, eggs and vanilla and beat with the wooden spoon until well blended.

Add the flour mixture to the banana mixture and stir just until blended.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, spreading it evenly with the wooden spoon. Put the pan in the oven and bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of the bread comes out with just a few crumbs clinging to it, about 45 -50 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes, and then transfer the pan to a cooling rack and let cool for at least 30 minutes.

To store, wrap tightly in cling wrap and then wrap again in foil. Keeps for about a week. Makes one loaf.

**Please use organic ingredients wherever possible** 

 

2 thoughts on “my favorite banana bread.

  1. Banana bread is just the best! ♥ I’ll definitely have to find coconut palm sugar next time I’m at the international market, I’ve never tried baking with that before… and now I’m craving banana bread 😀

    • Aw, yay, thank you Jessica!! This recipe is so easy! Coconut palm sugar is so great — it reminds me of brown sugar in flavor, but the texture is just like regular white sugar! I find it at an Asian market near my house, as well as Trader Joes (if you have one!). Thanks for your sweet comment!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

