whole wheat pasta with prosciutto, cherry tomatoes + asiago.

image

I was bored one weekend day, and was flipping through some magazines, when the cover photo on one of them caught my eye. Pasta dishes very rarely make me oh and ah, but this one caught my attention for two reasons. 1. It sounded SO summery; combined two of my favorite things: cooked baby tomatoes and zucchini. 2. Most important! I actually had every. single. ingredient. Right at that exact moment hanging out in my kitchen. I mean, how crazy fortuitous! I knew I had to make it.

image

Confession: I may not have had every identical ingredient, so I swapped whole wheat thin spaghetti for the original’s penne, and I used a cheese blend from Trader Joe’s that included asiago, parmesan and romano in place of just asiago. This is a delicious, elegant dish that comes together in under 30 minutes (hello, weeknight meal!), but it’s different and inventive enough for guests.

You will need 8 ounces of pasta for four people. That’s a half of a normal box. I realize that this doesn’t sound like much, but trust me. Two ounces is the normal serving size, and with everything else going on in the pasta, two ounces is all you need! It’s super filling and oh-so-delicious. And it uses gorgeous summer produce. Pasta perfection I’d say.

pasta with prosciutto, cherry tomatoes + asiago.
adapted from Cooking Light, June 2016.

image

ingredients

8 ounces whole wheat pasta (I used thin spaghetti)
3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1 ounce prosciutto, thinly sliced and coarsely chopped
1 medium onion, diced (about 1 cup)
6-8 garlic cloves, minced
⅛ teaspoon, crushed red pepper
1 medium zucchini, quartered lengthwise and sliced
2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved
½ teaspoon kosher salt
2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
¼ teaspoon cracked black pepper
2 ounces Asiago cheese blend, grated and divided (I use Trader Joe’s blend of Asiago/Parmesan/Romano)
⅓ cup fresh parsley, chopped

directions

Cook pasta according to package directions; drain.

Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add prosciutto, cook for 3 minutes or until crisp. Remove prosciutto from pan.

Add remaining 2 tablespoons oil to pan. Turn pan down to medium heat (this will ensure the garlic doesn’t burn). Add onion, garlic and red pepper and saute for 4 minutes, or until onion is translucent and soft and garlic is fragrant. Add zucchini and cook for 1 minute. Add tomatoes and salt; cook 3 minutes. Stir in pasta and vinegar; cook 30 seconds.

Remove pan from heat; stir in parsley, prosciutto and 1 ounce of cheese. Divide pasta mixture among the four bowl and top with remaining 1 ounce of cheese.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

