easiest ever slow cooker orange chicken.

This might be the easiest dinner I’ve ever made that turned out so insanely delicious. Lots of things are easy to make (ahem, all the food in the frozen section), but super simple and oh-so delicious are not always synonymous. Then I made this orange chicken in my slow cooker, and those worlds collided, just a little bit.

IMG_1675

In truth, I had an entirely different dinner planned (which seems to happen to me a lot). I was flipping through my recipe book for inspiration, and came across an old magazine recipe and realized that I had every single ingredient hanging out in my refrigerator at that exact moment. Which almost never happens, considering this calls for orange marmalade. I rarely have any type of jelly/jam/preserves, as I like my toast with butter and a drizzle of honey. I had purchased the marmalade for testing a recipe a few weeks back (it was a fail, but it left me with a half of a jar). This also calls for barbecue sauce, which I usually make from scratch, but happened to have a bottle leftover as well. As soon as I realized that I’d be able to use up some of the condiments in my possession and end up with a yummy dinner with next to no effort? I’m in. 

IMG_1674

Honestly? I did not expect this to be so good, let alone blog-worthy! I figured it would be tasty, an easy way to use up ingredients and keep me stacked for lunches for the next few days. But, no. This was delicious, made all the more amazing by how easy peasy lemon squeezy it was to make. 3.5-4 hours in the slow cooker and you’re DONE. Serve it up with some rice, steamed veggies, or with some ginger scallion quinoa, like I did. You won’t be sorry!

IMG_1673

slow cooker orange chicken.
adapted from Food + Family magazine.

close up

ingredients

1 pound boneless, chicken chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch pieces
1/3 cup barbecue sauce (scratch, or your favorite. I like Stubb’s)
1/3 cup bitter orange marmalade (see note*)
2 tablespoons GF soy sauce or tamari
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, minced or grated
1.5 tablespoons of GF cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
3 scallions, thinly sliced (optional)

directions

Combine chicken and cornstarch in slow cooker, toss gently to combine and coat the chicken pieces.

Add marmalade, barbecue sauce, soy sauce, pepper, garlic and ginger in a separate bowl, whisk to combine. Pour over chicken. Cook on low for 3-3.5 hours, checking after 3 hours for doneness. Turn heat up to high and let cook for 15-30 minutes longer, stirring occassionally, until sauce reaches your desired thickness.

Serve hot with cooked rice, quinoa or steamed vegetables.

Serves 4.

**Please use all organic ingredients wherever possible**

NOTE: I searched high and low for a marmalade that did NOT contain High Fructose Corn Syrup. I found Hero brand’s premium bitter orange marmalade, that was HCFS-free and much less sweet, which I much prefer. I recommend it.

 

Leave a Reply

