buttermilk yogurt ranch dressing.

I have been craving salads like CRAZY over the past few weeks. I know I’ve mentioned it before, but I am someone who just craves those fresh, crunchy vegetables. Growing up, dinner at my mom’s house always included a very ‘square’ meal of a protein, starch, vegetable, PLUS a salad and warmed baguette. Both my brother and I always ate our salad without fail, and my love for them has only intensified as I’ve gotten older. You already know about my love for arugula and lemon, but did you also know that I’m a fiend for really good ranch dressing? It’s true!

image

As much as I love my acidic vinaigrettes, there is something so deliciously old school about ranch dressing. Now, out of the bottle is fine and all, but once you see how easy, fresh, delicious and easy making your own is, I doubt you’ll ever be able to go back to the bottled stuff again! Even better for my mayo haters, this version is mayo free! What does that mean? Well, it means that by swapping the sour cream and mayo for plain Greek yogurt, we are drastically cutting down on the calorie count, the fat count, and upping the protein!

image

As much as the yogurt plays an integral role, buttermilk is the real star here. Despite the name,  buttermilk is tangy and low in fat yet incredibly thick, making it ideal for this recipe. Add in some fresh herbs (I used the classic dill and chives, but feel free to play around to your taste preferences. Please use fresh herbs in this — they are important and really make a difference!

The dressing will thicken as it sits, making it ideal for dips and for crudites! To thin it out, add a bit of water or leftover milk and whisk. This will keep for 3-4 days in your refrigerator, covered tightly. Enjoy this over a crisp salad or with veggies dunked into it!

image

buttermilk yogurt ranch dressing.
adapted from Once Upon a Chef. 

image

ingredients

1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup plus one tablespoon of plain Greek yogurt (use 2% for best results)
1 large garlic clove, smashed and minced
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon white wine vinegar
5-7 dashes of hot sauce (I used Frank’s Red Hot)
1/4 cup fresh chives, finely diced
2 tablespoons fresh dill, finely chopped
scant 1 teaspoon kosher or sea salt
1/2 teaspoon cracked black pepper

directions

Lightly whisk everything together in a large bowl until well combined. Transfer to a container and chill for at least one hour before serving. Keep tightly covered in refrigerator. Will keep for 3-4 days.

Makes about 1 1/4 cups.

**Please use all organic ingredients wherever possible**

One thought on “buttermilk yogurt ranch dressing.

Leave a Reply

