blood orange margaritas.

It’s Tuesday, and it’s cocktail time! (?) When is it NOT cocktail time?? It’s citrus season, and although I love all citrus, blood oranges hold a special place in my heart.

This vibrant, deeply hued fruit has a very brief season, peaking in January. Whenever they are in season at my supermarket, I am certain to be scooping them all up and incorporating them into as many dishes as possible. And, of course, eating them straight up with a million napkins (they are juicy little suckers!). One of my favorite ways to serve them is in this fun twist on the classic drink, a margarita. I like my classic margaritas STRONG: a 3:1:1 ratio of tequila, triple sec and lime juice. The below recipe reads more as a 2:1 ratio between the tequila and the juices, and I reduced the amount of triple sec, as the blood orange juice is very sweet. Feel free to play with the ratios until you find your desired strength.

IMG_0911

Truly, I had an entirely different post planned to share with you, and was going to share these margaritas at a later date. After a particularly long and demanding Monday, I stopped off and ran some errands after work, despite the blowing, drifting, and aggressively falling snow. I didn’t finish making dinner until almost 9pm, and yet, when I took my first sip of this drink, the stress just *melted* away. So, I decided I NEEDED to share this recipe with you, STAT. I was so excited, that I snapped a few quick shots of the drink in my dark kitchen while cooking just so that I could share it with you as soon as possible. I struggle with patience. But, please! Try this. It is a delightfully in-season drink that is at once refreshing, thanks to to orange and lime, and festive, thanks to the tequila. Margaritas make Mondays infinitely better.

IMG_0916

blood orange margaritas. 

IMG_0911

ingredients

6 ounces silver tequila
2 ounces freshly squeezed blood orange juice (I got plenty from one orange)
1 ounce freshly squeezed lime juice
1 ounce triple sec
ice

directions

Juice the blood orange and lime. Add juice, triple sec and tequila to a cocktail shaker. Add ice. Shake gently about 10 time. Strain and pour into rocks glasses over ice. Serves 2.

2 thoughts on “blood orange margaritas.

  1. I hear you, sometimes you just need a drink or in this case share a drink! Looks like a sweet, tangy and refreshing drink…I could definitely use one of these after the east coast blizzard.

Leave a Reply

