curried yellow split pea soup.

Hello there! It never ceases to amaze me how crazy quick the Christmas holiday goes by. I was definitely a procrastinator this year: not starting my shopping until mid-December, wrapping gifts right up until the 11th hour, and then the day goes by so incredibly quick, it almost gives you whiplash! Totally worth it, but whiplash it was.

Both my mother and my brother were in town, and I spent the day starting off with my father, stepmother and youngest siblings, then seeing my mom and that side of the family and then back to my dad’s to cook Christmas dinner with him. Look for the salad I made on Christmas Eve for my extended family in the coming days! Anyway…

image

After all the rich food over the past few days,  I wanted to keep my main meal this week light, filling and healthy. Enter this soup. I wasn’t sure I’d love split peas, they reminded me of the old green pea and ham soups that I detested as a kid. The weekend before Christmas, I stopped off for some much needed nourishment at Village Bakery while I was out shopping and running errands. I wanted something quick and warm and their specials board listed a curried vegetable soup. I decided to try it out, and was surprised when it came to my table in a smooth-ish puree and was a vibrant yellow-green. I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor; the curry flavors really came through. Later on, I decided to search for some recipes that would evoke the same flavors, and came across this one from Sprouted Kitchen. It sounded delicious, and just what I was looking for. I made it a few days ago, and it was so good, I knew it deserved a place on the blog and a spot in my regular rotation. This certainly isn’t authentic to Indian cooking, but it’s simple to make and freezes beautifully. I pureed it almost smooth, if you like it a little chunkier, stop about halfway through. It thickens upon sitting, so thin it out with some additional vegetable stock or coconut milk if needed.

image

My apologies on the photos: it was dark and rainy the day I took them. But boy, it was the perfect day for soup! Serve with naan. Mm.

curried yellow split pea soup.
barely adapted from Sprouted Kitchen.

image

ingredients

12 ounces of yellow split peas
6 cups vegetable stock
1 small yellow or white onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons fresh ginger, minced
3/4 cup leftover roasted sweet potato (see note)
1.5 teaspoons sea salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon turmeric
2 teaspoons cumin
2 teaspoons curry powder
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (add up to 1/4 teaspoon depending on preference)
1 cup coconut milk
1/3 cup fresh orange juice
cilantro, sesame seeds, lime for garnish (optional)

directions

Heat a dutch oven or heavy bottomed pot and grape seed oil over medium heat until shimmering but not smoking. Add onion, garlic, ginger and cook until translucent and soft, about five minutes. Add curry, cumin, turmeric, salt and pepper and stir to coat, allowing the spices to bloom. Add split peas, vegetable stock and sweet potato; bring to boil. Reduce to a rolling simmer, cover, and let cook for 45-55 minutes, until peas are soft and tender. Remove from heat and add in coconut milk and orange juice. Stir in and serve. Taste and add more salt, pepper or cayenne if desired. Top with cilantro, parsley, sesame seeds and/or lime if desired.

This freezes really nicely. Upon reheating from freezer or refrigerator, the soup will be VERY thick. Add to a saucepan with a splash of stock or coconut milk to thin while it heats up. Serves 4-6.

NOTE: If you don’t have a leftover sweet potato, dice up a small/medium one and add to pot along with onions. They will soften and cook through as the soup cooks.

**Please use organic ingredients wherever possible**

Leave a Reply

