whole berry cranberry sauce with orange + ginger.

I know what you’re thinking. Who in their right mind posts a recipe for cranberry sauce the day AFTER Thanksgiving?? I’m a rebel. And I think cranberry sauce is the unsung hero of the Thanksgiving Day table, and its tartness shouldn’t regulated to just one day of the year. In fact, cranberry sauce is the perfect spread to slather on those leftover turkey and stuffing sandwiches, and the perfect thing to smear on your leftover biscuits or rolls.

cranberry sauce

I actually really enjoy it because its tart and sometimes bitter flavor can be a welcome reprieve from the wonderfully rich and decadent food. I’ve never been a gravy girl (I know, I know), so I love it slathered on my turkey.

Speaking of turkey and Thanksgiving, how was your holiday? Did you eat early to rush out to the crazy sales? If so, you’re braver than I. I’ve only ever partaken in the Black Friday madness once, and I hesitate to even qualify my experience, as my mom and I went to a department store at 11:00am on Friday to purchase a chaise at a discounted price. But the middle of the night madness? No thank you. I have enough trouble in crowds as it is, so frantic shoppers who may be hungover (from the food or the cocktails!), makes me avoid the retailers like mad.

Anyway, back the sauce. I like a cranberry sauce with some body and texture, so I like to leave some of the berries whole or just burst. We’re using a scant one cup of coconut palm sugar and 2 tablespoons of brown sugar to add in a depth of flavor, and the juice and zest of one orange from our liquid. Citrus and cranberries are best of friends, and using the juice allows for a bright finished sauce. I also added in a ½ inch piece of grated fresh ginger, because, well, why not? It’s spicy, plays well with both cranberries and orange, and adds a fragrance that cannot be beat. Simply cook over low heat until sugar is dissolved and berries have softened and burst. Let cool and serve. I highly recommend for all kinds of roasted meats – pork tenderloin, a roast chicken, duck… all very good candidates for this sauce. Me? I’ll be spooning mine on some puff pastry, topping with a bit of leftover brie, folding over and baking. Mmmmmmmmmm. A recipe for another time.

cranberry sauce with orange + ginger.

sauce 2.jpg

12 oz. fresh cranberries, rinsed.
1 medium navel orange, zested and juiced
½ inch piece of fresh ginger, grated
scant one cup coconut palm sugar
2 tablespoons brown sugar (optional, can use additional white or coconut sugar)
sea salt and pepper to taste

directions

Heat a small saucepan over low heat. Add sugar and orange juice and stir together until sugars have mostly dissolved. Add in cranberries, ginger and orange zest and stir together, making sure to coat the cranberries well. Let cook for 10-15 minutes, stirring frequently, until the berries soften and begin to burst, thickening the sauce.

Allow to cook until the sauce has reached your desired texture. I find that 15 minutes is the sweet spot for a thick sauce/relish that retains a good amount of burst berries that mostly retain their shape.

Makes about 3 cups worth.

**Please use organic ingredients wherever possible**

Leave a Reply

