baked smoky sweet potato fries.

It’s the weekend! Finally. I don’t know about you, but this past week felt like it just dragged and dragged. Hopefully your weekend is full of fun and relaxing activities! I usually do all my grocery shopping on Saturday morning post farmer’s market, but today I did neither! I’m meeting some friends for dinner and a movie tonight, so I’ve decided to delay my shopping until tomorrow. As I was cleaning, I was suddenly hit with a major snack attack. Like, I need something salty and junky rightthisminute. I rarely if ever keep bagged snacks like cookies or chips in my house (I have no self control!) but I came across some sweet potatoes while searching my cupboards. Sweet potato fries came right to my mind. I hadn’t made these in forever, and they are one of my favorite ways to prepare the always amazing sweet potato. If you’ll recall, I love me some sweet potatoes, as evidenced by this chili, quinoa bowl, and this salad. Oh! And this stew. YUMMMMM. I normally plan my blog posts out in advance, but when something is this simple and this delicious and makes use of pantry staples, I feel compelled to share it right away! Take advantage of the ridiculous prices on sweet potatoes right now and make these tonight!

image

These ‘fries’ are absurdly simple. Peel, slice, spices, olive oil, bake and broil. Devour! I like to use a smoky/slightly spicy spice blend of smoked paprika, chili powder (NOT cayenne, the mild powder), salt and freshly cracked black pepper. Drizzle with olive oil and mix together until all the fries are nicely coated. I find my hands are the best tool for the blend. And olive oil is moisturizing for the skin. Bonus! If you don’t have smoked paprika, the regular kind is fine.

Because we are baking these and not frying, I’ve found a two step cooking process is necessary for a crisp finished fry. Sweet potatoes are a tough vegetable to get crisp, they often will overcook and become soft or burnt. To get around this, I highly recommend slicing the potato thin, 1/4 inch seems to work well. I like to cook them for about 10-12 minutes at 425 degrees, and then turn the broiler on and let them broil for about 1-2 minutes until they are crisp and lightly browned/charred, but not burnt. Serve with some ketchup, spicy honey (I LOVE honey with fries. I’m weird.), or whatever you dip your fries in. A healthier way to get your french fry fix?? Perfect!

baked smoky sweet potato fries. 

image

ingredients

4 small (or 2 medium/large) sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced into 1/4 in. sticks
1.5 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 tsp. smoked paprika
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/4 tsp. sea or kosher salt
1/4 tsp. freshly cracked black pepper
1/4 tsp. garlic powder (optional)

directions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with nonstick foil. Arrange sweet potatoes on the baking sheet in a single layer. Do not overcrowd. Sprinkle spices over the potatoes and drizzle the olive oil. Using clean hands, mix together to thoroughly coat the fries with the oil and spices. Spread back out in a single layer.

Bake for 10-12 minutes until lightly golden brown and cooked through. Turn on oven broiler and broil for 1-2 minutes until deeply golden brown and crisp. Serve immediately with ketchup or choice dipping sauce.

Serves 4 as a side, 2 as a snack.

**Please use organic ingredients wherever possible**

One thought on “baked smoky sweet potato fries.

Leave a Reply

