tropical papaya cabbage smoothie.

I am a smoothie NUT. I drink one practically every morning for breakfast, and am always amazed at their capability to keep me full and satiated for hours until lunchtime. They’ve also evolved in the few years that I’ve been drinking them. Like many, I would start with a full banana, yogurt, fruit and a teeny handful of baby spinach to “make it healthy”. Dependent upon the type of yogurt being used, um, hello sugar bomb! I’ve gradually gotten to the point where my smoothies are a mixture of vegetables, fruits, water, and a handful of chia or flax seeds, depending on what I have hanging around in the cabinets. Amazingly, this combo is still super filling and packed full of yummy flavors and vitamins! Last week I cut up and froze a papaya, and had forgotten about it until yesterday. I fully intended to mix it with some other fruits, celery and kale, but imagine my surprise when I opened the crisper and there was no kale (or spinach or any type of green!) to be found. Grocery list fail. I didn’t want an all fruit smoothie, so I instead decided to use up some red cabbage leftover from the week prior.

smoothie2

Cabbage is super inexpensive and lasts a ridiculously long time, so it’s a great thing to have on hand. If the other leaves look not so fresh, simply peel them off and use the rest of the cabbage. It lends a pretty pink/purple color and is pretty neutral in flavor. Combined with a half of a banana, some pineapple, ginger and celery, and you’ve got a tropical smoothie that will keep you full until lunchtime.

Hopefully you can enjoy this on a beach somewhere, and not in the car on the way to work like me!

tropical papaya cabbage smoothie.

smoothie1

ingredients
1/2 cup fresh or frozen papaya
1/2 cup frozen pineapple
1/2 inch knob of fresh ginger (I leave the skin on, but you can remove for a less spicy flavor)
1/2 cup red cabbage
1 stalk celery
1/2 frozen banana
1 tsp. flax seeds
1 1/4 cup filtered water

directions

Slice frozen banana and add to blender with fruit, cabbage, celery, ginger and flax seeds. Top with filtered water and blend on high in a high speed blender for 1-2 minutes until all combined and smooth. Serve immediately or refrigerate until ready to drink (up to 24 hours). Serves 1.

**Please use all organic ingredients wherever possible. 

Leave a Reply

