summer squash gratin.

I’m a self described cold weather lover. When everyone else around me is complaining about snow in late October (and in March and sometimes April), I am in my glory. And when the thermostat creeps up during the summer months, people seem to always say “Don’t complain about the heat! Remember the five feet of snow just a few months ago?!”. Why yes, yes, I do. Lucky for me, living in upstate New York means that I will get to see my beloved fluffy white snow and experience the chilly temperatures soon enough. But while I may not love the heat and humidity, I do love that summer means an abundance of fresh, local produce. I try and eat a vegetable heavy diet, but this time of year means local farms bring all their goodies to various farmer’s markets around the city. Yay!

Last weekend I came upon an absolutely ridiculous deal on yellow squash at the public market. Four for a dollar. I mean, how could I pass that deal up?! I planned to just sauté some of them and add the rest to a veggie soup (<– my favorite way to use up vegetables languishing in my crisper), but then Vani Hari posted a recipe for a summer squash casserole on her website and I thought it was just too serendipitous to pass up. You are heating up the oven for this dish, so try and make this on a day where it’s not 90 degrees outside, so your A/C doesn’t have to work overtime!

Image 1

This is great alternative to a traditional gratin, which is often made with heavy cream, butter, and tons of cheese. This is a lightened up version that really lets the flavor of the squash shine through. Serving amounts are listed for side dish portions, but I definitely ate a main dish serving the night I made this. Good thing it’s clean and relatively guilt free, so you can satisfy those casserole cravings all summer long!

Image

summer squash gratin.
slightly adapted from The Food Babe. 

IMG_0294

ingredients

3 cups yellow summer squash (about 3-4 medium squash), sliced into half-moons
1/2 large onion, diced
1 garlic clove, minced
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup grated swiss cheese (can also substitute provolone or mild cheddar)
1/2 cup milk (I use unsweetened coconut)
1/2 cup whole or sprouted wheat breadcrumbs (see note below)
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning
1 tablespoon grape seed or olive oil

directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Heat a large non stick skillet over medium heat and add oil. When oil is shimmering, add diced onion and garlic and cook for 1-2 minutes until slightly softened and onion is translucent and fragrant. Add squash and cook until slightly soft and tender, about 3-4 minutes. Be careful to not burn garlic.

While the vegetables are cooking, add the egg, milk, cheese, pepper, cayenne and salt in a small bowl. Whisk together until well combined.

Add vegetables to an oval or 8×8 baking dish and pour the liquid/cheese mixture on top. Top with the breadcrumbs, and cook uncovered in the oven for 25-35 minutes. Remove and serve immediately. Serves 4-6 as a side.

Note: I typically use sprouted grain bread to make my breadcrumbs. As I typically freeze bread, I put two thawed sliced under the broiler until browned. Cool and process in the food processor until you have breadcrumbs. Two slices will yield about a 1/2 cup.

**Please use organic ingredients wherever possible** 

Leave a Reply

