green beans with dill.

I picked up a huge basket of fresh green beans from the public market over the weekend, and when I went to make my favorite green bean recipe, I learned I was out of sweet bell peppers, an essential ingredient. What to do?  After sifting through my crisper, I came across a bunch of leftover fresh dill, thought “why not?”. Dill is one seriously under appreciated herb. Cilantro, basil, mint, they all get major play (at least in my kitchen!), but I only ever pick up dill when I am making dill pickles. But I love pickled dilly beans, so why not on some freshly steamed beans? Turns out, it’s a winning combination.

IMG_0257

All you need for this fresh, easy side is green beans, a few tablespoons of chopped fresh dill, butter, salt and pepper, and voila! A simple yet elegant side that is a twist on the classic steamed green bean. Who says dill only goes with pickles or carrots? Green beans are a perfect match.

IMG_0259

green beans with dill.
barely adapted from The New York Times Cooking

IMG_0261

ingredients

8 oz. green beans, ends trimmed (about 3-4 large handfuls)
1.5 tablespoons butter (grass fed is best)
3-4 tablespoons fresh dill, chopped
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4-1/2 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper (adjust depending on your spice tolerance)

directions

Heat small saucepan over medium high beat until water is boiling. Cook green beans for 2-3 minutes until crisp-tender; drain into colander.

Reduce heat to low, add butter and swirl to melt. Add dill, salt and pepper and swirl pan lightly to combine until butter is melted. Add green beans back in and mix together until well coated. Cover and keep warm or serve immediately.

Serves 3-4 as a side dish.

Leave a Reply

