sometimes you just need pizza.

Sometimes, I just want a quick and easy dinner. Usually it’s on a Monday (or Friday!) after a long day, like today. I was away at a work conference all last week, so even though I ran all my errands and went grocery shopping over the weekend, I got home after a full and busy day at the office and had little desire to cook. As tempting as it was to just devour an entire tub of hummus (recipe coming soon!) and pita chips and veggies, I resisted. After all, I basically ate my weight in food at the conference in New Orleans… I need to get my butt back in gear! As a compromise, I decided to make my favorite personal pizza, and it’s even relatively guilt free! Swapping a carb-laden, doughy crust for a flour-less, sprouted grain tortilla, loaded up with fresh vegetables and topped with a light sprinkling of cheese, and I have piping hot pizza in less than fifteen minutes! Love when a craving gets satisfied with minimal guilt! Of course, a big salad would’ve been even healthier, but hey, a girl’s gotta live!

Product shout out: I first heard about the Food For Life Ezekiel Sprouted Tortillas on Vani Hari’s site, Food Babe. If you haven’t heard of Vani, she’s an activist for GMO labeling and clean eating. She often endorses products, and these tortillas are some of my favorite. You can usually find them in the organic freezer section, and they’re great to grab from the freezer, thaw, and load up with your favorite pizza toppings!

quick and easy tortilla pizza.
inspired and adapted from Food Babe.  

photo-6

ingredients 

1 sprouted grain tortilla
1/3 cup pizza or marinara sauce
1-1.5 cups assorted fresh veggies (I used broccoli florets, white baby mushrooms, baby sweet bell pepper, onions and one fire roasted bell pepper from Trader Joe’s)
1/3 cup shredded cheese (I used an Italian cheese blend) – use more or less to personal preference
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. If frozen, thaw tortilla. Top with pizza sauce, assorted vegetables, and cheese. Sprinkle with oregano and place directly on oven rack. Place a baking sheet underneath to catch any wayward toppings or cheese. Bake for eight to ten minutes, or until cheese is melted and bubbly. Let rest for two to three minutes, cut into four pieces and serve. Serves 1.

1

Leave a Reply

